John Wood took the lead on lap 15 and never looked back as he held off a field of eighteen ASA Trucks to win the 40 lap feature on Salute to America Night at Madison International Speedway.

Bill Collins and Camden Murphy brought the eighteen truck field to the green flag for their 40 lap feature event. Murphy pulled ahead for the lead at the start followed by Collins and Vince Wilkinson, but the caution came out on lap 2 when the truck of Jacob Van Wazer hit the wall coming out of turn four.

Murphy retained his lead after the green waved again with Collins and Wilkinson still chasing him. John Wood and Chad Wood were up to fourth and fifth on lap 4 with John Wood getting by Wilkinson for third on lap 5 while Murphy coasting out front.

On lap 7 John Wood moved past Collins for second with the hard charging Chad Knaus going by Collins one lap later. Murphy, Wood, and Knaus built up a large lead over the field with Wood working his way to the inside of Murphy on lap 14 to take the lead one lap later.

Knaus was able to take the second spot on lap 18 after moving his way to the inside of Murphy. On lap 21 Knaus was up to challenge Wood for the lead and the duo were set to do battle.

Wood gradually increased his lead to five truck lengths as he and Knaus worked their way through lapped traffic. Murphy remained a distant third followed by James Swan and Jeff Watters.

By lap 33 Wood’s lead had increased to ten lengths and it appeared that the only thing that would stop the local favorite would be a caution flag which never happened as Wood cruised to victory lane beating Knaus by 1.055 seconds. The best race on the track was for third between Murphy and Swan who raced the final two laps side by side with Murphy getting the nod at the stripe
In the first heat, Steve Schulz took the early lead but charging through the field was Dann Barber who pulled to the outside Schulz on lap four and the two raced side by side. On lap 5 Barber cleared Schulz to take the lead while Jerry Wood was up to battle Schulz for second. Barber led the rest of the way to pick up the win with Wood edging Schulz for the runner-up position.

Camden Murphy took the lead from the start in the second heat race and put some major real estate between himself and the second place truck of Bill Collins. On lap 5 Chad Wood and John Wood both passed up Collins for second and third place. But eight laps would not be enough to catch the leader as Murphy easily picked up the win.

Watters set fast time with a lap of 18.791 followed by Chad Wood (18.862), Swan (18.868), John Wood (18.990) and Knaus (19.000). Rounding out the top ten in qualifying were Wilkinson, Becker, Murphy, Collins, and Corso.

Bob Heine won the 10 lap feature for the Midwest Vintage cars. Jim Heiland started on the pole with Heine on the outside. Heine grabbed the lead on the first lap with Gary Mitidiero quickly up to second place. Mitidiero tried everything he could to cut the gap between himself and the leader but Heine proved to be too strong and led all the way to victory lane. Jerry Schneider finished in third place with Heiland in fourth.

Racing at MIS continues next Friday night with Round Two of the Super Late Model Triple Crown Challenge and the Johnny Ziegler Tribute. See the super late models in 93 laps of feature racing (50 + 43) plus the Ho Chunk Gaming Madison Sportsman and Pellitteri Waste Systems Legends. Pit gates open at 3:30, practice at 4:45, qualifying at 6:15 with racing to follow. For more information about racing at MIS please checkout our website at