Post Image

by Kari Shear-Carlson / April 21, 2016 – The ARCA Midwest Tour presented by Scag Power Equipment is gearing up for the start of the 2016 season and the Touring Stars are ready to get back on track. Here’s a sneak peak at the first four.

2015 ARCA Midwest Tour Rookie of the Year, Austin Nason, will return as a Touring Star in 2016. The 20 year old has found success in every division he has raced in during his career. In 2015 he was a Speedweeks event winner. Prior to his success in the Midwest Tour, he proved he was on his way in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Sportsman and Late Model Divisions from 2010 through 2012. In 2013 he made his way to the Big 8 Series and in 2014 Austin finished his year with four wins between his Super Late Model and Big 8 Series starts. Nason is looking forward to the 2016 season with his sights set on a championship.


The 2011 Rookie of the Year, Skylar Holzhausen also returns as a 2016 Touring Star. In 2015, Holzhausen finished second in the overall Midwest Tour point standings and was the recipient of the Larry Detjens Sportsmanship award. Former Dick Trickle 99 winner, Skylar Holzhausen is one of those drivers that quietly and patiently makes his way to the front of the field and is always a threat to win at the end. In his first year as a Touring Star, Skylar won the biggest event of the 2011 season and of his career. He took home a check for $10,000 after winning the Midwest Tour event at Elko Speedway. In 2013 Holzhausen captured his second ARCAMT win at Marshfield Motor Speedway. Skylar Holzhausen looks to build on his success and compete for the championship in 2016.

Chris weinkuf

Chris Weinkauf finished a career best third in the 2015 ARCA Midwest Tour point standings. The driver out of Merrill, WI will return as a Touring Star in the 2016 season. Weinkauf has often been considered Mr. Consistency in the ARCA Midwest Tour. He won his first Midwest Tour event in 2014 at Grundy County Speedway, and is always a threat as the top qualifier. His success extends beyond the Midwest Tour, however. In 2010, he won the State Park Speedway Championship. He also won the famed Dick Trickle 99 in 2009. Weinkauf looks to pick up where he left off in 2015 in hopes of his first Midwest Tour Championship.


Andrew Morrissey was the 2011 Midwest Tour Champion. While Morrissey has had his fair share of frustrating seasons, he is never one to count out at any Midwest Tour event. In 2015, Morrissey won the Calypso Lemonade Showdown at Illiana Motor Speedway in true racer’s fashion. He made a daring move around a competitive field and found victory lane. Morrissey’s season is already off to a good start. He recently won the IceBreaker 100 at Dells Raceway Park on April 17th. As a returning Touring Star in 2016, Andrew is looking forward to competing in championship form once again.

The Touring Star Program for the ARCA Midwest Tour presented by Scag Power Equipment has been in place since the inception of the series. Top drivers including past champions, consistent challengers, and up and coming drivers all look to the ARCA Midwest Tour to prove they are the best in the country. All of the drivers will be competing against one another for a $30,000 point fund. The level of drivers in this year’s Touring Star line-up is sure to make for an exciting season.

The ARCA Midwest Tour is set to kick of the 2016 season at Madison International Speedway on Sunday afternoon May 1 with the Joe Shear Classic presented by SCAG Power Equipment. The 100 lap event will include all the ‘Stars and Cars’ including defending race winner Johnny Sauter and two-time defending Tour Champion Ty Majeski amongst early entries. For additional information please visit

Be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour on Facebook (/midwesttour) and Twitter (@midwesttour).

To learn more about the ARCA Midwest Tour, log on to The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedways.