The 11th season for the ARCA Midwest Tour presented by SCAG Power Equipment will take the green flag this Sunday afternoon at 2pm with the 10th running of the Joe Shear Classic at Madison International Speedway in Oregon, Wisconsin.

This year’s race will bring a new format and distance in honor of the legend, who was a four-time track champion at Madison and sadly passed away in 1998. This year’s race will be 200 laps around Wisconsin’s Fastest Half-Mile Oval with controlled pit stops.

Eight drivers have etched their names in the Joe Shear Classic history book with only one driver, Nathan Haseleu, winning the event twice in 2009 and 2014.

This year’s entry list will include four previous winners: Dan Fredrickson, the inaugural winner in 2008; Andrew Morrissey in 2012; Travis Sauter in 2014; and three-time ARCAMT champion Ty Majeski will return as the defending winner of the event.

Along with the past winners, many other notable drivers will be looking for their first Joe Shear Classic victory this Sunday afternoon starting at 2pm.

Rich Bickle, Jr, a two-time former MIS track champion, will make his return after a short absence behind the wheel. He has three wins in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and 85 starts in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series.

Jonathan Eilen will be making his record setting 93rd ARCA Midwest Tour start. The Hampton, Minnesota driver won the first ever Tour race in 2007.

Dennis Prunty is the defending Dixieland 250 winner and a former Slinger Nationals champion and finished third in last year’s event.

Bobby Wilberg, has 12 overall track championships at Madison, and comes into 2017 as the defending track champion. He also holds seven titles at Rockford Speedway.

Mike Beyer is a 2003 MIS track champion and a former winner at Rockford’s National Short Track Championship.

Dalton Zehr, two-time TUNDRA Late Model Series champion and is the defending track champion at Marshfield Motor Speedway.

Paul Shafer Jr. and Ricky Baker will be representing the Chicagoland area. Shafer won the Illiana Motor Speedway title at the age of 17 and Baker is the defending Bettenhausen Memorial winner and is a two-time Grundy County Speedway track champion.

Jeff Van OudenHoven is the defending Fox River Racing Club Super Late Model champion at Wisconsin International Raceway.

John Beale has three feature wins at MIS in 2016.

Young stars like Derek Kraus, Natalie Decker, Austin Nason, Bobby Kendall, Andy Jones, Chad Butz, and Kulwicki Driver Development Program drivers Justin Mondiek and Michael Ostdiek.

Overall, 36 drivers are on the expected entry list.

Spectator gates for the 10th Annual Joe Shear Classic will open at 11:30am on Sunday, May 7th, racing begins at 2pm. The afternoon will also feature a post qualifying fan autograph session in the new Turn 4 Party Pavilion. Adult general admission tickets are $25. Whelen Heroes, Seniors and Students (ages 12-17) $22, Kids (6-11) $10 with Children (5 & under) Free. Family pricing is also available for $60 which includes up to two adults and up to four admissions for those ages 17 & under. For additional information visit or call 608-835-9700.

Visit for the full schedule and be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour presented by SCAG Power Equipment on Facebook (/midwestour) and Twitter (@midwesttour).

ARCA Midwest Tour Presented by SCAG Power Equipment
10th Annual Joe Shear Classic
May 7, 2017

Car #

Name Hometown State


Brad Tilton Cheyenne WY


John Beale Verona WI


John DeAngelis, Jr Hubertus WI


Paul Shafer, Jr Portage IN


Chad Butz Suamico WI


Derek Kraus Stratford WI


Andy Jones Gurnee IL


Bobby Kendall Montello WI


Austin Nason Roscoe IL


Dean LaPointe Marshfield WI


Michael Ostdiek Lakeville MN


Jim Sauter, Jr Tomah WI


Jeremy Spoonmore Somonauk IL


Russ Blakely Frankfurt KY


Bobby Wilberg Beloit WI


Joshua James Saukville WI


Travis Dassow West Bend WI


Dan Fredrickson Lakeville MN


Andrew Morrissey DeForest WI


Dennis Prunty Knowles WI


Matt Kocourek Franklin WI


Justin Mondeik Gleason WI


Jeff VanOudenhoven Appleton WI


Rich Bickle, Jr Edgerton WI


Travis Sauter Prairie du Sac WI


Ricky Baker Plainfield IL


Don Sabitino Carol Stream IL


John Heath Lakeville MN


Chris Weinkauf Merrill WI


Mike Beyer Machesney Park IL


Jason Weinkauf Merrill WI


Jonathan Eilen Hampton MN


Jamie Wallace Genoa City WI


Ty Majeski Seymour WI


Dalton Zehr Daytona Beach FL


Natalie Decker Eagle River WI