Post Image

Rescheduled Wayne Carter Classic is this Saturday Night at Grundy

Expected Entry List Announced / Printable Entry List

Mother Nature may have put the brakes on the Wayne Carter Classic presented by Rod Baker Ford & Illinois Truck & Equipment last month, but the ARCA Midwest Tour is getting prepared to return this Saturday, August 25th for the annual event at the Grundy County Speedway in Morris, Illinois.

The ‘Stars & Cars’ will challenge some of the Chicagoland and Midwest best around the famous oval in a 100-lap main event.

This race will pay $750 to start and $5,000 to win.

Joining the ARCA Midwest Tour that night will be the Mid-American Stock Car Series, Midwest Compact Series and Illini Midgets.

With three races remaining on the 2018 schedule, the points battle is still tight after the Dairyland 100 this past Saturday night at Golden Sands Speedway in Plover, Wi.

The top-10 in points are only separated by 106 points and all of them will be at Grundy County Speedway on Saturday night.

Austin Nason continues to sit at the top of the standings with a 20-point lead over Casey Johnson. Dalton Zehr is currently third only 40 points behind Nason while Paul Shafer Jr. is only 44 point back. Andrew Morrissey is still in fifth, 53 points back. Nason is the only driver with two victories this season. Shafer and Morrissey each has one win so far this season.

Former Wayne Carter Classic winner Jonathan Eilen is currently sixth only 61 points behind Nason. John DeAngelis Jr. is 78 points back in seventh while Billy Mohn, fresh off a top-five last Saturday and leads the Rookie of the Year battle, is currently 8th only 83 points back. Justin Mondeik is 100 points back in ninth and John Beale rounds out the top-10 only 106 behind the leader.

Carson Kvapil, who won in his ARCA Midwest Tour debut last Saturday, will be looking to make his second start in the Wayne Carter Classic. He will be joined by last week’s third place finisher Ryan Farrell.

Ricky Baker is the defending winner of this historic event. He will be back to defend his victory and will be joined by other former Wayne Carter Classic winners that include: Eddie Hoffman, Larry Schuler, and Chris Weinkauf.

The Chicagoland area will be well represented this Saturday night. Former National Short Track champion Josh Nelms will be joined by Garrett Schwartz, Pat Kelly, former Illiana and Grundy champion Anthony Danta, Scott Doerner, and John Nutley.

Other stars entered this Saturday night include: Jason Weinkauf, Dillon Hammond, Rich Bickle Jr., Matt Kocourek, Curt Tillman, Nick Barstad, Michael Ostdiek, and Jeff Holmgren Jr.

Spectator gates will open at 4:30pm with qualifying at 5pm. An autograph session will follow qualifying with racing starting at 7pm.

Admission is: Adults (18+) – $20.00, Seniors (62+) – $18.00, Student (12-17) – $10.00, Children 11 & under are Free.

Make your plans now to be a part of the Wayne Carter Classic presented by Rod Baker Ford and Illinois Truck & Equipment this Saturday night, August 25th at Grundy County Speedway in Morris, Illinois.

Visit for a full schedule and be sure to follow the ARCA Midwest Tour on Facebook (/midwesttour) and Twitter (@MidwestTour).

Expected Entries
Wayne Carter Classic presented by Rod Baker Ford and Illinois Truck & Equipment
ARCA Midwest Tour
Saturday August 25, 2018
Grundy County Speedway, Morris, IL

30 as of 8/20/18

# – Name – Hometown State
0 – Josh Nelms – Lockport IL
5 – Casey Johnson – Edgerton WI
5 – Jeff Holmgren, Jr – East Troy WI
5 – John Beale – Verona WI
7 – John DeAngelis, Jr – Hubertus WI
7 – Paul Shafer, Jr – Portage IN
8 – Billy Mohn – New Market MN
8 – Eddie Hoffman – Wheaton IL
10 – Garrett Schwartz – Countryside IL
14 – Austin Nason – Roscoe IL
16 – Pat Kelly – Joliet IL
18 – Michael Ostdiek – Lakeville MN
30 – Larry Schuler – Minooka IL
31 – Nick Barstad – Prior Lake MN
35 – Carson Kvapil – Mooresville NC
39 – Andrew Morrissey – DeForest WI
40 – Curt Tillman – Roscoe IL
43 – Matt Kocourek – Franklin WI
44 – Justin Mondeik – Gleason WI
45 – Rich Bickle, Jr – Edgerton WI
51 – Anthony Danta – Downers Grove IL
52 – Ricky Baker – Plainfield IL
55 – Scott Koerner – Joliet IL
75 – Chris Weinkauf – Merrill WI
75 – Dillon Hammond – Grand Marsh WI
76 – Jason Weinkauf – Merrill WI
77 – Jonathan Eilen – Hampton MN
80 – Ryan Farrell – Big Bend WI
96 – John Nutley – Midlothian IL
119 – Dalton Zehr – Daytona Beach FL