Post Image

Johnson and Nason Set to Battle Tour Champs at Dells Raceway This Saturday Night

Wisconsin Dells, WI- Hot off his win in last weeks Badger State 125 at Dells Raceway Park, Casey Johnson looks to carry that momentum into this Saturday’s (August 31) Escape to Wisconsin 100 ARCA Midwest Tour event at the 1/3 mile paved oval located just outside the Waterpark Capital of the World. Johnson, with two Tour wins on the season trails Milwaukee Mile Winner Austin Nason by eight points, meanwhile four-time Tour Champion Ty Majeski looks for his third consecutive Tour win. The ‘Stars and Cars’ of the ARCA Midwest Tour will be joined by the Midwest Trucks and UMA Open Wheeled Modifieds this Holiday Weekend Saturday Night.

Nason and Johnson will be joined by a host of other drivers with Midwest Tour wins to their credit. The Rookie of the Year battle finds Gabe Sommers just one marker ahead of Carson Kvapil, Sommers recently won the Larry Detjens Memorial at State Park Speedway in July while Kvapil has been up front all season long after a Tour win last August. Another young star with touring wins to his credit is Skylar Holzhausen, who will make his first Tour appearance of 2019 along with Brandon Hill who has one Tour Trophy displayed in his shop.

Majeski will have his hands full with past Tour Champions Danny Fredrickson and Andrew Morrisey amongst those shooting for the Escape to Wisconsin win. Majeski has been hot this August in his Super Late Model, scoring victories in both the Dixieland 250 and Howie Lettow Classic after sweeping the Blue Race at WIR. Andrew Morrissey was third in last year’s Escape to Wisconsin 100 event, a season which saw the 2011 Tour Champion post two feature victories. Fredrickson, a two-time Tour Champion wound up fourth in last Saturday’s event at DRP and only trails Majeski in the all-time wins category.

Third place point man John DeAngelis, Jr is still chasing his first Tour checkered flag. DeAngelis led the most laps at May’s Joe Shear Classic and was runner-up in the Dixieland 250 earlier this month. Posting a solid fifth place finish last Saturday and a runner-up finish at DRP in April, Rich Bickle, Jr is also chasing that elusive first Midwest Tour feature victory. The five-time Snowball Derby who also has two Slinger Nationals and two National Short Track Championships to his credit has been highly competitive this season in his fan favorite #45.

Central Wisconsin Champions Jason Weinkauf and Luke Fenhaus also look to contend for the win Saturday night. Weinkauf is currently pulling the power plant from his brother Chris’ ride in order to make the starting grid in search for his second tour triumph. Fenhaus, has scored back to back wins in weekly competition at State Park Speedway, where he was the 2018 Track Champion, besting Touring Star Justin Mondiek in the closest battle in track history. Other Champions include a pair of Chicagoland Champs in 2013 Illiana Motor Speedway Champion and Tour Winner Paul Shafer, Jr as well as 2016 Grundy County Speedway Champion Anthony Danta. Shafer, one of the most popular drivers on Tour is battling with Kvapil and Fenhaus for the Kulwicki Driver Development Program’s Kulwicki Cup. Also in the field will be two-time Red, White and Blue State Champion Bobby Kendall who scored a top ten last Saturday and 2018 Wisconsin Challenge Series Champion Ryan Farrell who rounded out the podium at DRP with a top three effort.

Spectator gates open at 4pm Saturday with qualifying beginning at 5:30. Racing action which will include preliminary and feature events for the Midwest Tour Super Late Models, Midwest Trucks and UMA Modifieds will begin at 7pm. Adult general admission tickets are $20, Seniors and Students $18, Kids ages 10-15 $10 with ages 9 and under admitted free. Dells Raceway Park is located at N1070 Smith Road in Wisconsin Dells, just off of I-90 exit 85. For additional information please visit or call Dells Raceway Park at 608-253-7223.

Expected Entries
Escape to Wisconsin 100
ARCA Midwest Tour
Saturday Night August 31, 2019
Dells Raceway Park, Wisconsin Dells, WI

23 as of 8/26/19

Car #

Name Hometown State Sponsor Make
4 Luke Fenhaus Wausau WI Kulwicki DDP/Accu-Mix Concrete & Trucking/Ave Mtspts Chevrolet
7 John DeAngelis, Jr Hubertus WI DeAngelis Construction/D+H Demolition Ford
7 Paul Shafer, Jr Portage IN Paul’s Auto Yards/ Chevrolet
9 Tim Lampman Oak Creek WI Barricade Flasher Service/Wegner Automotive/Lane Automotive Chevrolet
11 Bobby Kendall Montello WI Interstate Sealant & Concrete/Tabitha Pierce American Family Chevrolet
13 Andrew Brocker Jefferson WI American State Equipment Chevrolet
14 Austin Nason Roscoe IL Montgomery Ward/Haase Builders/JRS Shocks Ford
15 Gabe Sommers Plover WI Tasteful Selections Potatoes/Kwik Trip/Wysocki Farms Toyota
34 Brandon Hill Genoa City WI Qwik Mag/Stinebrink’s Piggly Wiggly/Spectrum Coating Dodge
35 Carson Kvapil Mooresville NC Race Engines Ford
36 Dan Fredrickson Lakeville MN Herman’s Landscape Supply/Justman Freight Toyota
39 Andrew Morrissey DeForest WI Club LaMark/B&B Racing Engines/MRI, Inc Ford
44 Justin Mondeik Gleason WI Agra Industries/Aqua Finance/Schaeffer’s Oil/A&A Lock Service Chevrolet
45 Rich Bickle, Jr Edgerton WI T1 Racing/Wegner Automotive/Barnyard to Brickyard Chevrolet
47 Casey Johnson Edgerton WI Valley Gasket/Lake Park Pub/VanZeeland Collision & Paint Ford
51 Anthony Danta Downers Grove IL Automation Craft, LLC/Engine Masters Toyota
52 Shawn Grace Goshen IN Jess Performance/Complete Pool Service/Unlimited Mfg Pontiac
73 Joe Vinachi Morris IL Midwest Industrial Sales/Indicom Electric/Oval Engineering Chevrolet
75 Dillon Hammond Grand Marsh WI Hammond  Auto Mauston, WI Chevrolet
76 Jason Weinkauf Merrill WI Professional Drywall/VanDerGeest Cattle/Tiry’s Chevrolet
78 Skylar Holzhausen Bangor WI Kempf Logging/Wehrs Machine/Fechner Motors Ford
80 Ryan Farrell Big Bend WI Lingford Construction & Transport/Able Plumbing Chevrolet
91 Ty Majeski Seymour WI Bolt/Black Diamond/Ken’s Sports Ford