Post Image

A Pair of Tour Champs including Most Recent Carter Classic Winner Enter July 11 Grundy Go

Morris, IL- 2018 ARCA Midwest Tour Champion Dalton Zehr and the 2011 Champ Andrew Morrissey are the first two Super Late Model drivers to file their entry for the upcoming 34th Wayne Carter Classic presented by Rod Baker Ford and Illinois Truck and Equipment. The 100 lap contest which will pay $5,000 to the winner is slated to take place under the new LED lights at Grundy County Speedway on Saturday night July 11. Zehr topped a star studded field of touring ‘Stars and Cars’ and Chicagoland aces when the series last visited the one-third mile oval adding his name along the Midwest elite that have garnered victories in this event.

Joining the ARCA Midwest Tour will be the Midwest Dash Series and the Northern Outlaw Vintage Series. The Wayne Carter Classic began in 1975 when Tom Reffner defeated Bob Roper in what was the first ever ARTGO Racing event. Spectator Gates will open at 4:30pm, qualifying begins at 5pm with the First Race starting at 7pm.

Fans are encouraged to buy their tickets in advance as attendance limits will be in place at a to be determined percentage. Adult General Admission Tickets are $20, Seniors (62 and over) are $18, Students (ages 12-17) are $10 with kids ages 11 and under admitted Free. For additional information or to buy tickets for this event, please visit Friday night weekly racing action is set to begin at Grundy on June 26.

2020 Midwest Tour Schedule

Sat July 11 Grundy County Speedway Morris, IL Wayne Carter Classic 100

Sat July 25 State Park Speedway Wausau, WI Larry Detjens Memorial 125

Tue Aug 4 Wisconsin Int’l Raceway Kaukauna, WI Gandrud Auto Group 250

Aug 21/22/23 To Be Announced

August 28/29 To Be Announced

Sat Sept 5 Dells Raceway Park Wi Dells, WI Escape to Wisconsin 100

Oct 10/11 LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway West Salem, WI Oktoberfest Race Weekend

Nov 1 Nashville Fairgrounds Nashville, TN All-American Weekend (non-points)

Wayne Carter Classic Winners
1975 Tom Reffner
1976 Dave Watson
1977 Larry Phillips
1978 Mike Miller
1979 Mike Miller
1980 Mark Malcuit
1981 Larry Schuler
1982 Jim Sauter
1983 Tom Reffner
1984 Dick Trickle
1985 Butch Miller
1986 Joe Shear
1987 Dick Trickle
1988 Joe Shear
1989 Ted Musgrave
1990 Steve Carlson
1991 Kevin Cywinski
1992 Steve Holzhausen
1993 Joe Shear
1994 Joe Shear
1995 Joe Shear
1996 Dave Weltmeyer
1997 Joe Shear
1998 Eddie Hoffman
1999 Steve Carlson
2011 Ross Kenseth
2012 Eddie Hoffman
2013 Jonathan Eilen
2014 Chris Weinkauf
2015 Eddie Hoffman
2016 Ty Majeski
2017 Ricky Baker
2018 Dalton Zehr

Share in