Post Image

Ultimate Lap Photo

ARCA Midwest Tour Champions Seek Sweep of Wayne Carter Classic Saturday at Grundy

Morris, IL- ARCA Midwest Tour Champions swept the top three finishing positions during the 33rd Wayne Carter Classic. Five former Tour Champions intend to match that effort at Grundy County Speedway this Saturday night July 11 during the $5,000 to win Wayne Carter Classic presented by Rod Baker Ford and Illinois Truck and Equipment. Florida’s Dalton Zehr, the 2018 winner was followed across the finish line by Minnesota’s Jonathan Eilen and Wisconsin’s Andrew Morrissey. Twenty-six drivers from five states and Canada have filed entries for the 100-lap contest at the one-third mile paved oval.

With six Tour Championships accounted for amongst the five past Champions entered, the two most recent titlists are already finding success early in the 2020 season. Defending Tour Champion Casey Johnson won on the opening night of Fox River Racing Club action at Wisconsin International Speedway where he is the two-time defending Champion. He then followed that up with a late June victory at Slinger Super Speedway, where he finished second during the Slinger Nationals this past Wednesday night. Back on tour after a limited schedule in 2019, Dalton Zehr, the 2018 ARCA Midwest Tour Champ celebrated the Independence Holiday last weekend in Dells Raceway Park Victory Lane with his Gildan Racing Team.

2011 Tour Champion Andrew Morrissey, who many fans will remember for his drive to the front of the field to win the 2015 Chicagoland Showdown at Illiana (IN) Motor Speedway has spent many Friday night’s at Grundy assisting Nathan Kelly with his racing set-up. In fact, the duo worked to secure Kelly’s first career Late Model win at Grundy in 2019. Now Morrissey looks to improve upon his strong third place showing in the 2018 Wayne Carter Classic. With a knack of winning big money shows including the Oktoberfest 200, Morrissey will be one to watch Saturday night under the new LED lights.

A pair of Minnesota Champions also figure to be in the mix for the Wayne Carter Classic win. 2013 race winner and 2012 Champ Jonathan Eilen nearly won another Carter Classic two seasons ago, applying pressure throughout the closing laps to eventual winner Zehr. Two-time Tour Champion (2008, 2013) Dan Fredrickson will bring his familiar #36 machine to Grundy County in search of his first tour win since 2016. A multitude of near misses have this Midwest front runner working even harder in his family shop to return to his winning ways.

Joining the ARCA Midwest Tour will be the Midwest Dash Series and the Northern Outlaw Vintage Series. The Wayne Carter Classic began in 1975 when Tom Reffner defeated Bob Roper in what was the first ever ARTGO Racing event. Spectator Gates will open at 4:30pm, qualifying begins at 5pm with the First Race starting at 7pm.

Adult General Admission Tickets are $20, Seniors (62 and over) are $18, Students (ages 12-17) are $10 with kids ages 11 and under admitted Free. Tickets will be available for purchase at the gate or can be purchased in advance through Friday night on the tour website. For additional information or to buy tickets for this event, please visit

Expected Entries
34th Wayne Carter Classic presented by Rod Baker Ford and Illinois Truck & Equipment
ARCA Midwest Tour
Saturday July 11, 2020
Grundy County Speedway, Morris, IL

26 as of 7/8/20

Car #

Name Hometown State Sponsor Make


Josh Nelms Lockport IL McMahon Transport/Vandoorn Racing Development Chevrolet


Alex Clubb Morris IL A. Clubb Lawn Care & Landscaping Chevrolet


Eric White St. John IN Reliable Recovery Services Toyota


Paul Shafer, Jr Portage IN Paul’s Auto Yards Chevrolet


Eddie Hoffman Wheaton IL Feece Oil/Advanced Generator Chevrolet


Andrew Brocker Jefferson WI American State Equipment Chevrolet


Austin Nason Roscoe IL Montgomery Ward/Haase Builders/JRS Shocks/Kar Korner Ford


Gabe Sommers Plover WI DeKalb/Kwik Trip/Tasteful Selections Potatoes/Allied Co-op Toyota


DJ Weltmeyer Dyer IN Engine Masters/DeNovi Heating & Cooling Chevrolet


Cayden Lapcevich Grimsby ONT A Services/AP Race Engines/All-Star Perf Ford


Jeff Storm East Troy WI Great Lakes Components/Duramax Trucking/All Pro Mechanical Chevrolet


Nathan Kelly Wilmington IL Elite Tradeshow/Greg and Sons Const/Whip FX Graphic Wraps Chevrolet


Dan Fredrickson Lakeville MN Herman’s Landscape Supply/Justman Freight Toyota


Andrew Morrissey DeForest WI B&B Racing Engines/MRI, Inc Chassis & Fabrication Ford


Justin Mondeik Gleason WI AGRA Industries/Aqua Finance/Industrial Accessories Company Chevrolet


Rich Bickle, Jr Edgerton WI T1 Racing/Wegner Automotive/Barnyard to Brickyard Chevrolet


Casey Johnson Edgerton WI Montgomery Ward/Hougan Farms/UAW Region 4 Chevrolet


Andy Jones Waukegan IL KBR Performance/Evolve Concepts/Pomp’s Tire Service Ford


Ricky Baker Plainfield IL Rod Baker Ford/Illinois Truck and Equipment Ford


Scott Koerner Joliet IL Advanced Powder Coating/Brandolino’s Encore Music/Sontag Toyota


Jacob Goede Carver MN Baby Gowdy/Goetz Trucking/Northern Racing Products Chevrolet


Joe Vinachi Morris IL Midwest Industrial Sales/Indicom Electric/Oval Engineering Chevrolet


Jonathan Eilen Hampton MN Eilen & Sons Trucking & Landscape/Graber Auto Body Ford


Skylar Holzhausen Bangor WI Kempf Logging/Wehrs Machine/Fechner Motors Ford


Ryan Farrell Big Bend WI Lingford Construction & Transport/Able Plumbing Chevrolet


Dalton Zehr Daytona Beach FL Gildan/American Apparel/Comfort Colors/Prim + Preux/AMS Chevrolet

Wayne Carter Classic Winners
1975 Tom Reffner
1976 Dave Watson
1977 Larry Phillips
1978 Mike Miller
1979 Mike Miller
1980 Mark Malcuit
1981 Larry Schuler
1982 Jim Sauter
1983 Tom Reffner
1984 Dick Trickle
1985 Butch Miller
1986 Joe Shear
1987 Dick Trickle
1988 Joe Shear
1989 Ted Musgrave
1990 Steve Carlson
1991 Kevin Cywinski
1992 Steve Holzhausen
1993 Joe Shear
1994 Joe Shear
1995 Joe Shear
1996 Dave Weltmeyer
1997 Joe Shear
1998 Eddie Hoffman
1999 Steve Carlson
2011 Ross Kenseth
2012 Eddie Hoffman
2013 Jonathan Eilen
2014 Chris Weinkauf
2015 Eddie Hoffman
2016 Ty Majeski
2017 Ricky Baker
2018 Dalton Zehr