Post Image

Wayne Carter Classic rescheduled for Saturday August 22 at Grundy County Speedway

Morris, IL- The 34th running of the Wayne Carter Classic presented by Rod Baker Ford and Illinois Truck and Equipment has been rescheduled for Saturday night August 22 at Grundy County Speedway. The ‘Stars and Cars’ of the ARCA Midwest Tour have entries from five states and Canada ready to take on the one-third mile paved oval in a 100 lap contest, marking the first time the popular Super Late Model touring series will compete under the new LED lighting system at the Morris fairgrounds facility.

Joining the ARCA Midwest Tour will be the Midwest Dash Series and a to be named support division. The Wayne Carter Classic began in 1975 when Tom Reffner defeated Bob Roper in what was the first ever ARTGO Racing event. Spectator Gates will open at 4:30pm, qualifying begins at 5pm with the First Race starting at 7pm.

Adult General Admission Tickets are $20, Seniors (62 and over) are $18, Students (ages 12-17) are $10 with kids ages 11 and under admitted Free. For additional information regarding this event, please visit Those that purchased tickets in advance for the original July 11 event will have their tickets honored at the rescheduled August 22 event.

Wayne Carter Classic Winners
1975 Tom Reffner
1976 Dave Watson
1977 Larry Phillips
1978 Mike Miller
1979 Mike Miller
1980 Mark Malcuit
1981 Larry Schuler
1982 Jim Sauter
1983 Tom Reffner
1984 Dick Trickle
1985 Butch Miller
1986 Joe Shear
1987 Dick Trickle
1988 Joe Shear
1989 Ted Musgrave
1990 Steve Carlson
1991 Kevin Cywinski
1992 Steve Holzhausen
1993 Joe Shear
1994 Joe Shear
1995 Joe Shear
1996 Dave Weltmeyer
1997 Joe Shear
1998 Eddie Hoffman
1999 Steve Carlson
2011 Ross Kenseth
2012 Eddie Hoffman
2013 Jonathan Eilen
2014 Chris Weinkauf
2015 Eddie Hoffman
2016 Ty Majeski
2017 Ricky Baker
2018 Dalton Zehr