Post Image

Fox River Valley Favorites Look to Win Tuesday’s Gandrud 250

Kaukauna, WI- In the past twenty years, just four Fox River Racing Club regulars have finished on the podium of the Gandrud Auto Group 250. When the annual event at Wisconsin International Raceway comes to town this Tuesday night August 3, there will be plenty of local standouts looking for the $10,000 payday. Many have led laps, been close, but not since five-time WIR Champion Scott Hansen topped Butch Miller and Bryan Reffner in 1993 and again finished ahead of Larry Middleton, Jr and Kenny Wallace six years later, has a bay area driver hoisted the winner’s trophy.

Terry Baldry raced to third in 2002, Kyle Calmes came the closest with a second place finish in 2008 while Bobby Kendall and Brent Strelka both finished third in 2016 and 2018 respectively. Defending Fox River Racing Club Champion Kendall, another five-time Champ in Jeff Van Oudenhoven and 2017 Champion Andy Monday are amongst the local contingent that look to keep the trophy and $10,000 winner’s check in the area as drivers from around the nation come to Kaukauna for the ARCA Midwest Tour special event to take on the region’s best drivers Tuesday night.


Bobby Kendall placed his ride in victory lane two weeks ago at WIR and may have the best shot of any regular Thursday night regular. His worst finish in the 250 since 2016 is 15th, though he was still on the lead lap it was an uncharacteristic finish for the Montello driver whom had averaged a 6.5 finish the previous four races. Kendall is a two time Red, White and Blue State Champion at WIR in 2017-18.

For the second time this season Jeff Van Oudenhoven was victorious this past Thursday night at WIR in what amounted to a warm-up event for Tuesday night. “This is the car that we’re going to run here Tuesday night in the ARCA Midwest Tour Race here,” he stated in victory lane. “It’s running well. We’ve got Danny Stillman coming back to serve as crew chief for us. There’s a long list of some pretty tough drivers headed up for that one.” JVO as he is known locally, finished fifth following 250 circuits in 2017 and his team once again has this event circled on their calendar. A five-time FRRC Champion that also has 3 Red, White and Blue Championships to his credit as well as a three-time Midwest Allstar Racing Series Champion.

2017 FRRC Champion Andy Monday will once again climb behind the wheel of his family owned #10 on Tuesday night. Other notable FRRC favorites entered are former event winner and two-time FRRC Champion Casey Johnson from Edgerton, two-time Red, White and Blue Champion Maxwell Schultz who finished third this past Thursday night tying him for the weekly point lead, Dixieland Delight Winner Braison Bennett, Corey Manders, Sawyer Effertz, mainstays Pete and Trevor Vandermolen, as well as Jesse Oudenhoven and Brandon Reichenberger.

Advance tickets for the Gandrud Auto Group 250 are $25 and can be purchased online at through August 2. Tickets will also be available on race day at the gate for $25. Spectator gates open at 4pm, qualifying will begin at 5pm with the first race at 6:30pm during the Tuesday Night August 3 Special Event at Wisconsin International Raceway.

A 28 car field is scheduled to start ‘Wisconsin’s Richest One Day Race’ which pays $10,000 to the winner of the 250 lap event and $1,200 to start. Drivers from ten states are expected to attempt to make the starting grid including NASCAR Cup winners Aric Almirola and William Byron. The Midwest Truck Series will join the ARCA Midwest Tour with the trucks contesting a 35 lap feature event.

Schedule of Events for Tuesday:
10am Pit Gate Opens
2:15pm Practice Begins
4pm Front Gates Open
5pm Qualifying Begins
6:30pm Racing Begins

General Admission Pricing:
Adults $25, children ages 12 and under admitted free.
Tickets available in advance (through Monday night) at OR go on sale at the ticket gates Tuesday at 4pm.

Location: Wisconsin International Raceway is located at W1460 County Rd KK in Kaukauna, WI. For additional information visit or call 920-766-5577.

Complete List of Past Gandrud Auto Group 250 Winners
1981 Mark Martin
1982 Jim Sauter
1983 Dick Trickle
1984 Mark Martin
1985 Butch Miller
1986 Butch Miller
1987 Dick Trickle
1988 Butch Miller
1989 Rich Bickle Jr.
1990 Dick Trickle
1991 Dick Trickle
1992 Steve Holzhausen
1993 Scott Hansen
1994 Joe Shear
1995 Bryan Reffner
1996 Joe Shear
1997 Steve Carlson
1998 Steve Carlson
1999 Scott Hansen
2000 Brian Hoppe
2001 Steve Carlson
2002 Brian Hoppe
2003 Steve Carlson
2004 Steve Carlson
2005 Stephen Leicht
2007 Kyle Busch
2008 Steve Carlson
2009 Steve Carlson
2010 Johnny Sauter
2014 Johnny Sauter
2015 Nick Murgic
2016 Dennis Prunty
2017 Casey Johnson
2018 Chase Purdy
2019 Ty Majeski
2020 Ty Majeski

Share in
Tagged in